FSC LOGO

Fernbank Science Center
Instructional Specialists

Earth and Space Science

FSC Instructor

Mark Lancaster

Instructional Specialist: Astronomy

Mark_Lancaster@dekalbschoolsga.org
 
Other specialties: Geology (rocks/minerals, Earth Processes), Meteorology, Earth Science, Light Properties, Spectroscopy, Drones  

FSC Instructor

Sean Fankhauser

Instructional Specialist: Atmospheric Science

Sean_w_Fankhauser@dekalbschoolsga.org

Other Specialties: Meteorology, Climate, Physical Science

Life Science: Biology and Ecology

FSC Instructor

Tonja Felton

Instructional Specialist: Biology (Human Development)

Tonja_Felton@dekalbschoolsga.org

Other Specialties: Disease Prevention (STI / HIV / AIDS), Adolescent Development, Reproductive Physiology.

FSC Instructor

Dr. Patricia Jenkins

Instructional Specialist: Biology (Genetics)

patricia.jenkins@dekalbschoolsga.org

Other Specialties: Genetics, Cell Biology, Biochemistry, General Biology, Anatomy & Physiology ​​​​​​​

FSC Instructor

Dr. Kate Wejnert

Instructional Specialist: Ecology

Katherine_e_Wejnert@dekalbschoolsga.org

Other Specialties: Marine Science,
Herpetology, Climatology

Chris Showalter

Instructional Specialist: Ecology and Wildlife

chris.showalter@dekalbschoolsga.org

Other Specialties: Ornithology, Herpetology, Forest Ecology, Evolution Biology

FSC Instructor

Deayne Johnson

Instructional Specialist: Biology (Anatomy & Physiology)

Deayne_Johnson@dekalbschoolsga.org

Other Specialties: Chemistry, Biochemistry, Developmental & Evolutionary Biology

FSC Instructor

Melanie Heckman

Instructional Specialist:
Biology (Marine Ecology, Microbiology, Epidemiology)

melanie_heckman@dekalbschoolsga.org

Other Specialties:  Invertebrate Biology,
Population & Community Ecology

Life Science: Horticulture

FSC Instructor

Kyla Sankara

Instructional Specialist: Horticulture

kyla_sankara@dekalbschoolsga.org

Other Specialties: Master Gardening, Agriculture

FSC Instructor

Doug Hamby

Instructional Specialist: Horticulture

Douglas_Hamby@dekalbschoolsga.org

Other Specialties: Botany, Environmental Science,
Agriculture, Biology, Exceptional Education

FSC Instructor

Dr. David Collins

Instructional Specialist: Horticulture

David_Collins@dekalbschoolsga.org

Other Specialties: Exceptional Education

Physical Science

FSC Instructor

Adrian Elliott

Instructional Specialist: Chemistry

Adrian_Elliott@dekalbschoolsga.org

Other Specialties: Forensic Science,
Physical Science

FSC Instructor

Michael Dowling

Instructional Specialist: Physics

Michael_Dowling@dekalbschoolsga.org

Other Specialties: Physical Science, AP Physics, Science Olympiad

FSC Instructor

Marques Herrington

Instructional Specialist: Physical Science

Marques_Herrington@dekalbschoolsga.org

Other Specialties: Community-oriented engineering, Cymatics, Robotics, Wellness, Mindfulness, Virtual Reality

FSC Instructor

Kamal Carter

Instructional Specialist: Physical Science

Kamal_Carter@dekalbschoolsga.org

Other Specialties: Robotics, Drones, Aerospace Engineering, Chemistry, Engineering, Coding, Computer Programming 

Librarian

Teacher-Librarian

Sue Levine

Susan_Levine@dekalbschoolsga.org

Other Specialties: 
Early Literacy, Multimedia Production & Applications